Page 5 of 6

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 7:06 pm
by dusanmal
Two small comments after happily upgrading to Mythtv 0.20.2 and subscribing to SD (although these are repeats of the stuff many may already know, I find it important to underline them):

1) Upgrading (in my particular case on FC6 system on which I have installed MythTV using "yum install mythtv-suite" but should work on other distro's with yum,...);

-Exited MythTV and stopped the backend (this might be specific to your install, do not forget to stop backend properly first)

-Backed up (just in case) database : mysqldump -u mythtv -pmythtv mythconverg -c > /somewhere/mythtv_backup.sql
Got error 145: Table './mythconverg/recordedseek' is marked as crashed and should be repaired when using LOCK TABLES
(from various posts this appears to be a very typical case)
Repaired using : mysqlcheck -u root -p --repair mythconverg -1 recordedseek
Backup went well.

-Upgraded, as there is apparently no new "mythtv-suite" rpm, I used: yum -y upgrade \*myth\*
Went without the glitch. Rebooted, just in case.

2) Switched to SD as follows:

-Stopped backend (set to autostart on boot), run mythtv-setup. Deleted all channels. Went to Video Source,
and as helpfully "tgutwin" mentions picked up North America (SchedulesDirect.org) for the Listing Grabber.
As he underlines, USERNAME is not just the username but the complete EMAIL you have given! After giving
it the password as well, locality got automatically populated.

-Exited mythtv-setup and run mythfilldatabase. Started the backend.

Everything is in order.

Thanks to previous posters here (and on othjer forums) for this quite smooth transition. Hope these details help,

Dusan

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Wed Aug 29, 2007 7:21 pm
by marc.aronson
Here's a link to the instructions from that Cecil posted at the knoppmyth forums. They worked well for me. I run Knoppmyth R5D1.

Marc

http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=16178

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 5:18 am
by jridley
marc.aronson wrote:Here's a link to the instructions from that Cecil posted at the knoppmyth forums. They worked well for me. I run Knoppmyth R5D1.
Thanks, I'll try that. I'm coming down to the wire - we had a thunderstorm like 2 hours after I signed up for my 7 free days, which fried the mainboard in my Myth box (along with another machine, my router and cable modem, and other stuff - it's been a bad week). I just got it running again with a loaner mainboard last night, so I now have 2 days to go from zero to working before i have to decide, and I have about 3 hours a day to work on it (they like me to show up to work).

I mean, it's going to pretty much have to be a go anyway; it's not like I can do without Myth. Well, not without just cancelling my TV entirely and watching torrents.

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:12 am
by bwgreen
dusanmal - Thanks, this is what I have been looking for. I'm also running Mythth on FC6 - I used the yum install method as well, and I haven't switched to SD yet (but I need to soon, within the next 2 days!!) I am not a programming guru, and I don't have a huge amount of time to do this, so I was looking for something jsut like this.

One quick qeustion - when you did the mythtv upgrade (yum upgrade \*myth\*) did you lose any previous recordings? I have a whole bunch, and I don't really want to lose them all.

Thanks,

Brian

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2007 8:01 pm
by wheniwork
cmbetts wrote:I just did the update and it lets you choose either zap2it or schedules direct as your data source, so I'd assume it's safe to take the plunge
I am having a problem. I did the update. when I do mythfrontend --version it says: Library API Version: 0.20.20060828-3

The problem is that when I run mythtv-setup and go to my sources i do not see the options to choose schedules direct. It looks like it did before with DataDirect as the the option. Perhaps I upgraded wrong. I used svn like so:

# svn co http://svn.mythtv.org/svn/trunk/mythtv
# svn update
Skipped '.'

Is there more i need to do in order to get it updated? Any help would be great.

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:58 pm
by wheniwork
Please see the screenshots showing what is listed in my Listings grabber (note: no schedules direct). Also attached is he screen shot of my terminal output of mythfrontend --version (which is 0.20.2). Anybody know why I am not able to get schedules direct to show up so I can get my lineups?

http://www.thisclicks.com/assets/Picture%201.png

http://www.thisclicks.com/assets/Picture%202.png

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 5:43 am
by StuartM
wheniwork, your problem is that isn't 0.20.2

You may be confused by some bad package naming. Some packagers called the second version of their 0.20 package 0.20-2 which is not 0.20.2 at all.

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:12 am
by tagra123
Here's a copy of my posts -- linked just in case your myth system is recording previously recorded programs.

On Schedules direct forums:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=309

On ubuntu forums:
(Tells how to backup previous system and restore to new system plus the extra sql statements required to get everything working correctlly
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=550011

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:36 am
by wheniwork
StuartM, Thanks for the info. I recompiled and installed and it works now. So how do you get the "REAL" version if --version does not show accurate information?

Re: MythTV Howto?

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:01 pm
by StuartM
wheniwork wrote:StuartM, Thanks for the info. I recompiled and installed and it works now. So how do you get the "REAL" version if --version does not show accurate information?
From 0.20.2 I changed the version output to include better information and tried to get the packagers to be more consistent with their version naming/numbering. The more important part of the --version output is now the SVN Code version and SVN branch. Although I had the idea a little too late for 0.20.2, in 0.21 (and possibly 0.20-fixes) the library API version is moved down the list as too many people mistake this for the application version.