just looking for a app to run and do searches on my computer

Please use this Forum to discuss Approved Applications (if something is approved, what version, etc)
Forum rules
So folks can help you, include in the subject the software package you're using and the version number in the body.
slideways666

just looking for a app to run and do searches on my computer

Post by slideways666 »

Hi all... I at my wits end... Im not a programmer --rather im just a guy that wants to do searches on my computer so i can find what racing is on... Everything is either linux or have to program this or that.. I tried the freeguide but that is tooo far the other way.... Ugly interface.. and didnt seem to have a very good description of stuff.. very vague.... Tried to get xmltv and tvg going-- that was a joke... I wish programmers would realize that people dont want to have to struggle to use something.. make it easy... anyways that is another topic for another time..

I dont have a pvr, nor do i want one.. just want to search and look on my computer for upcoming races-- simple...

All im looking for is a nice looking easy app for my windows xp computer... a good description for the show... and something that is easy to use.. PUt username and password in.. and that is it.. Easy...

any help is appreciated.. Thanks

rmeden
SD Board Member

Re: just looking for a app to run and do searches on my computer

Post by rmeden »

I recommend TVG. (I think I mentioned Freeguide in another thread.. I just needed a TV Guide and realized it was TVG I played with)

Why don't you work with the TVG folks to get a working system and then contribute to the project by providing instructions for someone in your position?