Lineup refresh issue with Tribune

Use this forum to report problems with lineups

Lineup refresh issue with Tribune

Postby rkulagow » Sat Jul 18, 2009 1:11 pm

We've discovered that there is a bug with Tribune's lineup handling system, which causes lineup updates to not be reflected in the Schedules Direct lineup editor web page.

If it's not accurate there, that means that it's also not accurate in the data you're downloading.

The workaround is to delete and then re-add your lineup, which will force a refresh.

Once the lineup is accurate in the lineup editor, refresh the lineup in your application and you should be good.

We have been told by Tribune that the root cause has been identified, and will be fixed in an update to their servers in August. The date has not yet been determined.
rkulagow
SD Staff
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:15 pm

Re: Lineup refresh issue with Tribune

Postby JWJr » Sun Jul 19, 2009 7:00 am

Frankly, "delete and then re-add your lineup" would be a lot of work, for those of us who've edited our lineups to reflect our actual viewing. Any chance you could add a "Refresh" button on your end to do the heavy lifting? -JW
JWJr
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:17 am

Re: Lineup refresh issue with Tribune

Postby rkulagow » Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:26 am

Update: A "Re-add" lineup function has been added to the Schedules Direct "my Account" page to work around the Tribune bug. Please try it before opening a ticket about missing channels.

Once you've clicked Re-add, you must go back into your lineup using the "Edit" hyperlink and enable the new channels, otherwise you won't get the new data by default.
rkulagow
SD Staff
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:15 pm

Re: Lineup refresh issue with Tribune

Postby rkulagow » Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:39 am

Update:

Stale channel lineup information is another issue that we see. For example, your provider used to have the East coast version of a channel, but now they've switched to the West coast (which will typically include a "P" in the name to denote "Pacific"), and all of your programs are off by three hours.

Or you're in Canada, and your provider used to use a U.S. version of a channel, and now they have one specific to Canada.

Again, this should be resolved by clicking "Re-add" in the lineup editor, then refreshing the channel lineup in your application.
rkulagow
SD Staff
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:15 pm

Re: Lineup refresh issue with Tribune

Postby skst » Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:26 pm

So what do we do when we click "Re-Add All Lineups" and it displays the error message:

Notice:
Re-add no longer supported
----------------------------------------

USA-IL58819-X
WOW Chicago Suburbs - Digital
USA 60005
skst
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:13 am

Re: Lineup refresh issue with Tribune

Postby rmeden » Sun Nov 16, 2014 11:48 am

skst wrote:So what do we do when we click "Re-Add All Lineups" and it displays the error message:

Notice:
Re-add no longer supported

You open a lineup trouble ticket to resolve the problem.

Tribune's DataDirect service had a problem where a customized lineup was not being refreshed when they made changes to the master lineup. "Re-Add" lineups captured your disabled channels, deleted the lineup, readded it, and then re-applied your disabled channels all in an attempt to get around that bug. It didn't always work. :(

Now that we no longer use Tribune's DD service, the reason for doing the re-add is gone. The new SD-DD service only stores a list of excluded stations, so it's always in sync with the main lineup.

Maybe instead of "no longer supported" it should say "no longer needed".

Robert
rmeden
SD Board Member
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:31 pm
Location: Cedar Hill, TX

Re: Lineup refresh issue with Tribune

Postby skst » Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:44 pm

Cool. Thanks!
----------------------------------------

USA-IL58819-X
WOW Chicago Suburbs - Digital
USA 60005
skst
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:13 am


Return to Lineup Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron