Page 1 of 5

Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:34 pm
by rkulagow
Effective 2017-12-15, the identifiers of lineups in GBR will be changing based on changes at our upstream.

We were trying to perform dynamic re-mapping of the old lineup names to the new names, but there are too many variations for me to effectively ensure that there was full coverage.

For example, there didn't used to be a real Freeview lineup (there was YouView, which was supposed to be a superset, but people still complained.) Now there will be Freeview and YouView. There is also multiple Sky lineups, more closely aligned to region.

On 2017-12-15, any users with the old-style GBR-000* identifiers will have those lineups removed from their accounts and you'll need to use your application to go through the "Add a headend" process again. The new lineup options will have greater granularity for regional variations.

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:27 am
by JohnLBergqvist
rkulagow wrote:Effective 2017-12-15, the identifiers of lineups in GBR will be changing based on changes at our upstream.

We were trying to perform dynamic re-mapping of the old lineup names to the new names, but there are too many variations for me to effectively ensure that there was full coverage.

For example, there didn't used to be a real Freeview lineup (there was YouView, which was supposed to be a superset, but people still complained.) Now there will be Freeview and YouView. There is also multiple Sky lineups, more closely aligned to region.

On 2017-12-15, any users with the old-style GBR-000* identifiers will have those lineups removed from their accounts and you'll need to use your application to go through the "Add a headend" process again. The new lineup options will have greater granularity for regional variations.

You say this will have "greater granularity for regional variations", but the new lineup i've been given for Freesat, when entering my postcode, has totally got my regional channels wrong, replacing some with a non-existant "Network" version of the channel, or simply giving my totally incorrect regional versions of channels:

I've migrated from the GBR-0003012-DEFAULT lineup to the new GBR-
1000086-DEFAULT lineup, and i've noticed several glaring omissions,
especially where regional channels are concerned.

Based on my region ("South East" according to the location my Grabber
says the line-up represents), when I put in my postcode, I should be
receiving the following regional versions of channels:

101: BBC One (Oxford) (68104)
103: ITV1 Thames Valley (North) (53444)
111: ITV1 HD (Meridian, Anglia) (67073)
112: ITV1 South East (Plus 1 Hour) (65161)

However, this new lineup has given me the following:

101: BBC One (17153) - I don't know why this channel is present on
the guide as there is simply no "Network" version of BBC One
transmitted in SD - you get one of the regional versions, e.g. London
or Oxford
103: ITV1 (Channel Islands) (24291) - My postcode is literally 100s
of miles from the Channel Islands region, this is totally wrong. The
previous line-up had the correct region for this channel included.
111: ITV1 HD (London) (50523) - Again, this is the wrong region for
this particular channel. The previous lineup included the correct
regional varation.
112: ITV +1 (65160) - Again, this is a "Network" version of the
channel, which isn't transmitted. The previous lineup included a
regional version that was more applicable to my postcode.

Secondly, all regional versions of BBC One SD, BBC HD (Scotland, N.
Ireland, Wales), and BBC Two are transmitted as legitimate channels
on Freesat, in the range 950-978. These are now gone from this new
line-up, so I now have no EPG data for them.

Anyway, i've raised a ticket, but i'm very disappointed that this change went ahead with no "Grace" preiod at all, and right before Christmas as well, when many people will be reliant on correct EPG data to watch their favourite Christmas programs

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:07 am
by cbers62
Not impressed with the late notification of this change.

I raised a Support Ticket earlier this week, as did fellow members I am aware of, and no-one mentioned this was going to happen.

Anyway, is there a lookup we can use to see what we had before and what we need to use now ??

Currently I have the following lineups configured, so what are the new ones please:

GBR-0001318-DEFAULT
GBR-0001172-DEFAULT

Thanks.

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:13 am
by ljg
Hi, thanks for the email notification of the change. If, in future, any future changes could be notified with a bit more warning that would be much appreciated. Changing the settings of my PVR server is not a trivial exercise!

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:18 am
by Glidos
On the plus side, we now seem to have a full 14 days of guide (maybe more - I'm fetching only 14).

... although I agree some warning would have been nice: hadn't planed to spend today messing with MythTV.

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:38 am
by mikepuk
I agree, just before Christmas isn't really the best time to be doing this.

So, I tried a reconfigure and it gave me exactly the same lineup the email told me had been deleted yesterday (GBR-0001206-DEFAULT). I haven't yet checked if the available program list resembles reality.

What's going on?

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:59 am
by rickgillyon
Mine gave me new lineups.

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:36 pm
by Glidos
mikepuk wrote:I agree, just before Christmas isn't really the best time to be doing this.

So, I tried a reconfigure and it gave me exactly the same lineup the email told me had been deleted yesterday (GBR-0001206-DEFAULT). I haven't yet checked if the available program list resembles reality.

What's going on?


You need to choose via postcode not transmiter

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:50 pm
by Mimir
How can I delete a lineup entry you've munged like this:

Location:
Transport: Deleted
Name: DELETED LINEUP
URI:

There is no URI, so there is no valid REST URL which I can delete. How am I supposed to delete this from my account so I can add a new one instead?

Re: Lineup identifiers in GBR are changing on 2017-12-15

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:56 am
by Mimir
There is no URI, so there is no valid REST URL which I can delete.
Thanks for fixing this.


One big issue remaining (touched on above) is the removal of all the regional BBC stations.

The way Sky works is that you get whichever regional version of BBC1 and BBC2 is relevant to your postcode. These will be on LCN 101 and 102.

However Sky also transmit all the other regions on LCN 951-979.

So if my "region" is South East then I will receive BBC1 (South East) on 101, but I will also get all the other BBC1 regions on LCN 951-968.

Similarly I will get BBC2 (England) on 102, but I will also get BBC2 Scotland, Wales, N. Ireland on 969-972

See http://tv.sky.com/tv-guide (scroll down to 951 et sub.)

Please can you reinstate these stations to all "regionalised" lineups.